Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

First Week

The first week of school was a bit of a blur. It will take me some time to get used to the new campus and the new schedule. I was taking college express courses at Walters State which are 5 week courses, two nights a week for three hours each. I only had to focus on one or two subjects at a time. This year I am taking traditional classes so I have five subjects to cover. Monday and Wednesdays I have Honors Theatre, Media Writing, Geology, Intro to Mass Communications and Geology Lab (Monday’s only). On Tuesday and Thursday I have a short day with only one class, Honors Psychology.

I am very excited about this year. It seems like all of my teachers are going to be great. I have never seen teachers more enthusiastic about what they do. My Theatre teacher lives and breathes theatre. My Geology teacher  loves rocks, except for rose quartz, she really does not like pink rock. She is a hoot! I think her joy of Geology borders on contagious. Should be a fun and interesting class. I have the same teacher for Mass Communications and Media Writing, she also seems to genuinely enjoy her work. She is very nice and I think she will be easy to talk to. My Psychology teacher used to be a clinical psychologist so his class should be very interesting. I think he will bring a sort of insight into the classroom that someone who spent their entire career teaching might not.

I was really tickled to get into a couple of Honors Courses. I wish that I could have fit more into my schedule, but it just did not work out that way. I think these classes are going to be a lot of fun. The honors students seem to be more willing to jump in there and should lead to some interesting group discussion.

The campus is nice. Its quaint and beautiful. The classes are small and intimate which is a plus. I think this is going to be a wonderful year.

Motlow Campus

Motlow Campus

I really miss a couple of my teachers from last year. Mr Willis was the most amazing teacher. He had a big impact on me. I am so glad that we have been able to stay in touch. Ms. Lisa was a fantastic teacher. She is one of those people who teaches for all of the right reasons. She was also my math teacher in my GED classes. We also stay in touch, but I miss having them both as teachers.

It has been a good week. I am looking forward to getting out of my books and digging in.

~ Tina

Leave a Reply

