Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

Visual Learning?

I think that I lack visual learning skills. It seems that I struggle the most with things of a visual nature. Maps, Graphs, and Illustrations that are generally helpful to people tend to be a hindrance to me. I think that my brain processes written, and verbal information much easier and more efficiently than it does visual information.

I wonder if this could be part of the reason why I struggle more with Math and Science than I do with writing/reading intensive subjects like History or English? I could write a 5000 word essay about the Geography of the United States in less time than it would take me to label a geographic map of the United States. I don’t know why this is the case, but I am left wondering if there is anything that I can do to improve upon my visual learning skills. It would be nice to be able to sit down to take a test, and not have a panic attack when I see a map, graph or illustration among the test questions.

I will have to do a little research on the subject. I will let you all know what I find out. What about you, are you a visual learner or do your strengths lie in other areas?

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2011 by in Education, Learning and tagged , , , , .
