Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

I received an ambassadorship for study abroad, can this be real?

I found out Tuesday that I got the ambassadorship that I applied for, and I am still sort of in shock. Here I am, 40 years old and have never been anywhere, never mind out of the country. I am almost afraid to believe it, what if something happens and I don’t get to go? The ambassadorship covers the entire cost of the trip, including two meals a day so I do not have to come up with any more for the trip other than spending money. They recommend 300.00 – 500.00, but I could scrape by on less if need be. I will still have to save for the trip, because I have to be sure that all of my household bills, and other responsibilities are covered for the three weeks that I will be gone. I will need around 2000.00 to cover all of those expenses. I have approximately five months to come up with that, and I will do whatever it takes to get it. I do not want to miss out on this amazing opportunity.

I cannot believe it, it is so surreal to think about going to England. The biggest city I have ever seen is Knoxville, TN. I can’t even wrap my head around what it will be like to visit London. I am going to get to study Theatre in London. How amazing is that? This is going to be a dream come true for me. I know it is going to change my life in ways that I can’t even begin to understand. I am so excited about taking in all of the history, the architecture, the culture, the people, and the theatre. I will miss my family, and worry about my babies while I am gone. I am so lucky to have a husband who is not only willing to take on all of the responsibilities while I am gone, but actually excited about this opportunity for me to experience a little more of the world. I am also lucky to be attending a college that is so active in International Education, and in promoting all of these amazing opportunities. Mrs. Brown and Dr. Guerin were so support and helpful, if not for them I probably would not have even applied. I am really just kind of without words, still even though it has been a few days it is not sinking in. I don’t know that it will even seem real to me until I am enroute to the airport. Holy cow.. I have never been on a plane before either. So many new experiences are in my future. I am so happy, and grateful.

I will write more about the Ambassadorship, and the TNCIS program in a future post. I am also going to start a travel blog, that I hope update daily while in London.

I love school. I wish that I had gone to college sooner. I hope that every person who wants to attend college will. You can do it. It does not matter your situation, you can go to college. Do not let work, family, or financial situations hinder your quest for an education. There is money available, all sorts of options for classes, traditional classroom, adult study (college express) classes, and online classes to name a few. There are ways to work around work and family obligations and there is plenty of financial aid out there for anyone who wants to go to college. If you do not qualify for Federal Financial Aid through FAFSA, don’t get discouraged there are lots of other options, and plenty of scholarships for every one. There are a lot of scholarships catering specifically to non-traditional adult students.

Going back to school has had  a major impact on my life. It has changed the way I think, and the way that I view the world. It has given me more confidence, and reinforced my love of learning. I would be a student for life, if I could.

14 comments on “I received an ambassadorship for study abroad, can this be real?

  1. Katy
    December 17, 2011

    i popped over to say thanks for the follow when i saw this post, and i just had to say congratulations! that is a serious accomplishment. i’ve been lucky enough to do a lot of traveling in my (short!) lifetime and let me tell you, it’s addictive!

    obviously i don’t know much about you and your situation, but one of the ways i’ve been able to fund some of my trips is to send out a letter with a description of what i’m doing abroad, then let family and friends choose different experiences or necessities to help you with (“tapas fund,” “museum entry fees,” etc.). my grandparents even donated towards a gym membership! even $10 here and there goes a long way, and people really like to know that they’re helping you make the experience as amazing as it can be. good luck! i look forward to reading about your london adventures. 🙂

    • eduthusiast
      December 18, 2011

      Thank you. I will take the advice. I am going to need all of the help I can get. =) I am so excited I can’t stand it. Thanks for reading my post. I am new to this blogging thing, and trying to figure it all out. I am really enjoying some of the blogs I have stumbled across here.

  2. Shutter Bug
    December 17, 2011

    Congratulations! I’m sure there will be a lot for you to see and do out there. Regards.

  3. westerner54
    December 18, 2011

    What a great post! I love your enthusiasm and am excited to hear more about your new adventures. Also, thanks for reading my Carriacou post – this blogging thing is kind of fun, isn’t it?

    • eduthusiast
      December 18, 2011

      Thank you. I think it is fun and addictive. lol I have a feeling this will be only one of several blogs that I will keep. I am already thinking about starting a blog for my photography. I am a total amateur with a crappy point and click camera, but I love it.

  4. rlewiscordell
    December 26, 2011

    Great stuff here! Hey, check this out: http://chasingexcellence.org/popular%20posts.html

    R Lewis Cordell

    • eduthusiast
      December 27, 2011

      Thank you for sharing. I am checking it out now.

  5. shoutsweetie
    December 27, 2011

    Congratulations! I am happy and excited for you. This will be an experience that you will hold close to your heart and mind. I agree, everyone who desires to continue their education should go for it. There are grants, scholarships, loans, etc… to help finance education. I am a lifelong learner also and I would never trade this opportunity and experience for anything. There is an amazing wealth of knowledgevjustvwaitingbfor learners. You will have to keep us posted on your abroad experience. Thank God for such an awesome and supporting husband. Again, Congrats!

    • eduthusiast
      December 27, 2011

      Thank you. I will keep the blog updated. I may even create an additional blog specifically for my study abroad experience. I have to promote the program as part of the ambassadorship program so I am thinking photoblog. =) I love photography. The photos that rotate through my header are photos that I have taken. =) I am so so excited about this opportunity. I am still almost afraid to allow myself to get my hopes up because I am afraid something will happen to prevent me from going. I know I should stay positive but its just so amazing I really cannot believe it.

  6. studyingparent
    December 27, 2011

    It sounds a fantastic opportunity. Thanks for checking out & following my blog. I look forward to reading more of yours.

    • eduthusiast
      December 28, 2011

      Thank you and I look forward to getting to know you through you blog.

  7. David (1MereMortal)
    December 30, 2011

    Congratulations, that’s great; also, thank you for following my blog…I am now following yours.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
