Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

Enjoying Break

Things are settling down after the holiday craziness. I am trying to relax and enjoy the break from school, but find myself excited to get back at it. I have cleaned out all of my notebooks and started to get organized for next semester. It occurred to me that it might be good to share some of my methods for keeping on top of homework and staying organized. I am not a very organized person by nature so I have to really work at staying organized for school.

My personal and work life is usually so chaotic that it is a must for me to stay organized with school work. It is really helpful for me to keep hand written running to do lists that I mark off as I go. The reason for this is two-fold. It helps me see at a glance what I have to get done, and it also allows me to see what I have already accomplished which can be a great motivator.

I keep my notebook organized with dividers and pocket folders.

I keep my notebooks organized with pocket folders and dividers. I keep a spiral bound notebook for each class. I also use some programs such a MS OneNote and Mindmapping programs to help me with school work and study. There are websites that I frequent and habits that I have developed that help me.

I have been thinking about what I want to do with this blog. I have found writing in it to be very enjoyable thus far. I was thinking that I would share things such as scholarship opportunities, book reviews, website reviews, study tips, and personal tidbits. I am not sure that this anything new, but I may be able to give it from a different perspective. I am a 40 yr old first time college student with a family of six and a job. I know that there are others out there just like me. My hope for this blog to share my experiences, connect with like minded individuals, to learn and grown, and maybe even help or inspire others to pursue their own dreams of an education.

I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday and that new year brings you much success and happiness.

12 comments on “Enjoying Break

  1. Klextin
    December 27, 2011

    Thank you for following my blog, I have enjoyed reading you as well !

    • eduthusiast
      December 27, 2011

      Thank you. =) I just found yours and have enjoyed what I have read. I am sure I will enjoy what follows.

  2. Klextin
    December 27, 2011

    May I ask how you happened across my little slice of WordPress?

    • eduthusiast
      December 27, 2011

      I saw a comment you left on another blog, and I followed it to yours. =)

  3. Klextin
    December 27, 2011

    ah I see my secret plan is working lol. Thank you for your visit…..

  4. The Hook
    December 27, 2011

    Organization rules! It’s just so hard to maintain…

  5. ShimonZ
    December 28, 2011

    What I enjoy most about reading the journal of a fellow student, is the ideas and the responses to the material he or she is learning. Just beginning to get to know you.

    • eduthusiast
      December 28, 2011

      Thank you. I will incorporate that into the blog as well. I wish I had gotten a better start in the beginning. I really enjoyed all of my classes this past semester. I wrote just a bit about each class in one of my posts but did not go into great detail. I will try to do more in the coming semester.

  6. jordanclary
    December 28, 2011

    Good advice! Thanks. I’m a terribly unorganized person myself. And congratulations on your scholarship! I was over 40 before I began traveling the world and it really does change your life. I think it will enrich your children too even if they’re not actually with you–it’s important for kids to see their mothers (and fathers) following their dreams. Thanks for checking out my blog–that’s the result of a scholarship (Fulbright) as well. I’m looking forward to reading more of yours’.

    • eduthusiast
      December 28, 2011

      Thank you. It is wonderful to meet others who are non-traditional students and/or first time travelers at a later age. I don’t feel like such a sheltered odd ball knowing that there are others out there like me. I love your blog! I read a few posts and then decided that I need to start at the beginning. I look forward to getting to know you through your blog and learning more about you. Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting. I am enjoying these interactions as much as writing the blog.

  7. Sylver Blaque
    December 29, 2011

    Your blog ideas sound interesting. As does your semester organization plan – wish I had one. Such a gypsy that organization & I are archenemies! 🙄

    • eduthusiast
      December 29, 2011

      I can totally relate. I am such a disorganized mess by nature it really is something I just have to make myself do for school. I know that if I don’t then I won’t do as well and its really important for me to keep a good GPA so that I can qualify for scholarships/grants otherwise I couldn’t afford to chose this crazy dream. =)

Leave a Reply

