Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

Goodbye 2011 – Hello 2012

The end of the year is closing in fast and I have a feeling 2011 is going out with a whimper rather than a bang for me. I am still fighting a cold and doubt I will be able to stay awake long enough to ring in the New Year.

I will be spending my day tomorrow cooking black eyed peas, hanging with the family, and organizing my thoughts. I have lists to make about goals that I want to accomplish and things to get done in 2012. I have never been much of a planner or organizer, as mentioned before it simply is not in my nature, but I want to try something different this year. Creating lists and being organized has been a positive for me in my educational endeavors so I am going to try to apply those things to my daily life. I have already set a few goals, but have not done any long term planning. I really feel like I need a plan of action this year. There is so much that I want to accomplish and quite frankly I am tired of waiting for things to happen. I think this is the year to make things happen for myself. I want to write more. I want to start my own business. I want to raise money to ensure that I am able to take advantage of the Study Abroad Scholarship in the Summer. I want to excel in school. Publish an Ebook and a myriad of other things. I know I am going to have to narrow my focus and work my butt off, but I can do this.

I also took on the challenge of the 365 Project for 2012. I was hesitant to do so because it is such a huge task, but was able to enlist a good friend to help out when I am stretched too thin. I am nervous and excited about the project. Nervous because I am a new blogger and I want to do this project justice.  Excited because I am going to be giving myself an opportunity to meet and get to know some amazing people in the process of creating this project.

For those who do not know what Project 365 is all about, it is basically a pledge to blog about a particular topic of your choice every day for an entire year. I chose to do my project on Veterans. I will be interviewing and photographing a different Veteran every day of the year. I will be sharing their stories, photos, and videos on my blog at 365 Vets . I was inspired by another blogger who did a 365 Project in 2011 where he introduced himself to a stranger a day, photographed them and shared their stories. It is an amazing piece of work, you can see it here. Another amazing inspirational blogger is Photographic Memory.

I will continue to update this blog in 2012. I have received tremendous support from the blogging community and look forward to sharing 2012 with all of you.

HAPPY NEW YEAR

16 comments on “Goodbye 2011 – Hello 2012

  1. The Hook
    January 1, 2012

    “I am still fighting a cold and doubt I will be able to stay awake long enough to ring in the New Year.”
    This was me last night – and this morning!

    • eduthusiast
      January 1, 2012

      Same here this morning, but a busting headache decided to accompany the cough and congestion. Not exactly how I had hoped to start the New Year.

  2. krismerino
    January 1, 2012

    Feel better and hope 2012 is wonderful for you!

  3. ShimonZ
    January 2, 2012

    Best wishes for a very happy, healthy year, with much gratification from studies… That project you’ve undertaken sounds like it could get very weighty. Be careful before you commit yourself.

    • eduthusiast
      January 2, 2012

      Thank you I wish the same for you in the New Year.

      I thought hard about the project before I decided to go forward with it. I could not manage it alone, but thankfully have a couple of wonderful people who have agreed to help me out when things get to be too much for me. I would not want to do the project unless it could be done well. It is too important. I have high hopes for the project. I hope that we are able to touch some lives and be a catalyst for much needed change.

  4. tasinator
    January 2, 2012

    Good luck with the Blog 365 challenge…I look forward to seeing your 2012 posts.

  5. Good luck with your project. I am going to check out Project 365 myself. Best wishes for 2012

    • eduthusiast
      January 2, 2012

      Thank you Nannette I am having a lot of fun with my 365 Project and have received a lot of support.

  6. robert che vola
    January 4, 2012

    I’m sure your 365 Project will be a success. But it will be not an easy one. Which will make it even more interesting and valuable. Forza! And I wish you an exciting 2012 !
    robert

  7. jordanclary
    January 14, 2012

    What a great idea–I checked out the 365 Vets site. Seems like a wonderful project. Good luck on organizing your year!

  8. timjohnson
    January 20, 2012

    Good luck with your 365 project – thanks for the contact with my blog 🙂 I’m going to pass on the 365 project to the students here at University of Worcester – I wonder if they will do anything with it ? 🙂

    • eduthusiast
      January 20, 2012

      Thank you, and let us know what, if anything, the students do with the 365 project.

  9. ihaveishoes
    February 7, 2012

    I love your word, “eduthusiast!”
    Thank you for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2012 by in Education, Learning, Photography, Projects and tagged , , , , , .
