Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

First Day of Class

Me with my youngest son, Walker

Today was the first day of the Spring Semester. My classes are on Monday and Wednesday from 8-3. I may be crazy, but I am taking 18 hours this semester. I hope that I can pull it off, and still keep up my GPA . My little ones were reluctant to let me leave this morning, they have gotten used to having mamma at home all day. I got plenty of hugs, kisses, and snuggles. Walker got up early with me, so we had a little time to just hang out before I headed out to class at 7 this morning.

It was an exciting day, if a bit too cold for my tastes. The school provided a nice selection of snacks, and drinks for returning students. That had a spread that included hot cocoa, coffee, donuts, fruit, yogurt, and other snacks. I snagged a couple of snacks, a cup of hot chocolate, and headed to my first class.

1st stop, Psychology of Human Sexuality – Honors. My initial thoughts, this class is going to be amazing. I cannot wait to dive into the material. The class is pretty small with only 17 students, and that is assuming no one drops. Our professor, Mrs. Gunne seems like she is going to be a lot of fun. She is certainly open minded, and I am looking forward to some interesting class discussions.

Next up, Electronic Media with Mrs. Williams, a familiar face. I really enjoyed both communications classes with Mrs. Williams last semester, and am sure that the two that I am taking with her this semester will be equally enjoyable. We discussed the syllabus and did a couple of exercises to help us get to know one another. There are some interesting projects planned for the class, including a field trip to Atlanta, GA to tour CNN.

I made a quick pit stop for a cup of coffee, before venturing out in the cold to my next class. Literature of the South – Honors, with Dr. McLemore. This was another small class of only eight students. I love Honors classes because they are so intimate. You get a chance to interact more with your classmates and with the instructor. Dr. McLemore is obviously passionate about Appalachian literature, and about teaching it to others. I am looking forward to the many activities she has planned including the Honor’s Seminar which will be a new experience for me.

Back across the way to Mrs. Williams New Media class, again a lot of familiar faces, and what promises to be a very interesting class. New Media is of particular interest to me, and I love the fact that professor Williams likes to mix things up a bit. She allows for a lot of creativity in the classroom and in projects. I am not really looking forward to giving class presentations. I am not a fan of public speaking, but that fact that I like the subject matter is a plus.

This Semester's Text Books. I also have two ebooks.

Last class of the day, and one that I added at the last minute this afternoon. Theatre Production. I had Mrs. Brown for Intro to Theatre last semester. She is wonderful. She will also be the instructor in London this Summer. I found a love of theatre through her class, and am really looking forward to being a part of the production. I do not think I will be auditioning for a part in the play, but hope to find a role behind the scenes. I was a little concerned with taking on too much, or with not being able to meet commitments to this class since some time outside of the classroom is going to be required. I discussed those concerns with Mrs. Brown, and I believe that it is something that I will be able to handle.

I am also doing an online class in American Government. This is my first time taking an online course. I am not sure how I feel about it yet. We have to participate in online discussion, that will be beneficial, but its not the same as face to face. I know some people hate lecture, but I happen to be one of those oddballs that really enjoy it. I takes lots and lots of notes that are always helpful to me when it comes to studying. I am not sure how I will do with no lecture. I guess time will tell.

This semester is going to rock, there is so much interesting material to be covered and new experiencing waiting for me. I am excited! I know the semester is going to fly by, and before you know it Summer time will be upon us. I still can’t believe that I will be in London this Summer. It just seems too good to be true. I have not allowed myself to really believe it.

24 comments on “First Day of Class

  1. karpediem92
    January 19, 2012

    Thank you for the pingback, and thank you for following me and liking my post! I hope that you enjoy my blog.

    • eduthusiast
      January 19, 2012

      Thank you for checking out my blog. I enjoyed your blog and think you are definitely on the right career track.

  2. Debi
    January 20, 2012

    Good luck with school! I too did 18…UGH…I was crazy back then, but hey, look where all that class time got me! (I’m looking around at the mess I call home hahahaha!)

    • eduthusiast
      January 20, 2012

      I love your blog it has me laughing and shaking my head. I can so relate! My 3 and 5 yr olds crack me up with stuff they say daily.

  3. Merit K
    January 19, 2012

    That sounds like a wondeful line up of classes! Hope your school year is great 🙂

  4. scillagrace
    January 19, 2012

    Hi! Thanks for subscribing to my blog! I am truly jealous of your classes because I have always loved being a student, but I can say that I am a home-schooled student of life! There is so much to be engaged in on this amazing planet. Keep surrounding yourself with people who support and participate in that! I love the idea of an eduthusiast!

  5. jlau
    January 19, 2012

    Thanks for the follow! Good luck with all your classes. I also see that you will be in London this summer, how exciting! Should be crazy with the Olympics 🙂

    • eduthusiast
      January 20, 2012

      Thank you. I am very excited about the trip. We leave the day before the Olympics begin, but I am sure it will be NUTS there prior too the event. I bet travel is going to be nuts too.

  6. adultcollegestudents
    January 20, 2012

    Reblogged this on adultcollegestudents and commented:
    I understand. Check out.her blogs.

  7. cyclingrandma
    January 20, 2012

    Hi,
    Thanks for stopping in and liking my post. You have a lot on the plate: school, family, and a blog!
    Good luck!

    • eduthusiast
      January 20, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by and visiting with me as well. I admire all of the work that you do, and think your plate is just as full as mine. =)

  8. The Conservative Hill Billy
    January 20, 2012

    I really miss college. The stress of college beats the daily grind of the working rat race any day.
    John

    • eduthusiast
      January 20, 2012

      I agree I keep telling my older kids that school is much better than work, but they don’t believe me. I love college, unfortunately I have to deal with both college and the rat race. lol

  9. Sylver Blaque
    January 20, 2012

    Your son has the sweetest l’il face! There’s no way I’d get any studying done with that much cuteness in the room 🙂

    • eduthusiast
      January 21, 2012

      Thanks Sylver its not easy, and it is really hard to leave every morning when he is crying, Pease Don’t Go Mommy. =(

  10. carolbsessums
    January 21, 2012

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and the Like. The photo of you and Walker is too sweet. He’s a cutie. Good luck with school.

  11. The Hook
    January 22, 2012

    Beautiful family pic! Good luck in school!

  12. Jenny
    January 28, 2012

    It’s great to see that there are more education enthusiasts out there and double the props since you’re really giving it your best with children! Keep it up and I’m sure somehow or another you’ll do even better than imagined; so here’s to both of us and hope we can see it through successfully to the end 😀 Cheers!

  13. Raven of Leyla
    February 5, 2012

    Looks like you have some fun classes in store for you.
    May your week be filled with love and laughter!
    Rx

  14. mj monaghan
    February 17, 2012

    All the best to you. Wow, 18 hrs and kids! You must love pain. 🙂 I love to learn myself, so I understand.

Leave a Reply

