Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

A Play, New Media, and The Psychology of Human Sexuality.

I have neglected my blog these past few weeks. I have really missed both writing in my blog and reading all of your blogs. It always takes me a couple of weeks to get acclimated once a new semester begins. I have been swamped in work, both at school and at home. I think I am actually finally getting back into the groove of things and can come up for air. I decided to drop one of my classes, taking me back down to 15 hours for the semester, 18 was just a bit too much. I was really over extending myself especially considering all of the reading required for that particular course. Still, I hated to drop it because it is a fantastic course with a wonderful professor. It works out so that now instead of five classes with no breaks in between from 8 A.M. to 3:00 P.M. , I have two classes, then a little over an hour break so that I can grab lunch and study before the next two classes.

Me trying out a 40's inspired hair style. The play we are doing is set in the 1940's during WWII.

I have a small part in the play that we are doing for Theatre Production class. I did not expect to be in the play, but I can honestly say that I am excited about the opportunity. Terrified, but excited. This is something that is definitely outside of my comfort zone, but I believe that this is how we grow and improve ourselves. That is what this journey of mine is all about. I am grateful to Mrs. Brown for this new experience. I just hope I can get this British accent down, the tough part is just dropping this southern twang I’ve got going on. I have a feeling I will be watching a lot of BBC programming over the next few months.

We are learning a lot about New Media in our Communications class, including blogging. My professor, Mrs. Williams knows that I blog and asked me to speak to the class about my blogs and about blogging in general. I am fairly new to this medium so I was a bit nervous, but I think it went very well. The students seemed genuinely interested, they asked questions and we had a good time discussing the topic. One of the students asked for my contact information after class, she is interested in starting a blog. I think she would be great at it, she has a lot of personality and is a good writer. I think she would do well using this platform.

The Psychology of Human Sexuality course is even more interesting than I thought it would be. I am really enjoying this class and appreciate Dr. Gunne’s ability to put the students at ease when discussing sensitive subjects. I am not uncomfortable with the subject matter, but I know that some of the other students are at times. Two of our course requirements include a topic report, and a movie review. We were given a long list of topics and movies to choose from, and were given some freedom in choosing outside of those on the list. I chose Sexual Fetish for my topic report, and The Whistle Blower for the movie review. The Whistle Blower is a drama based on the experiences of Kathryn Bolkovac, a Nebraska cop who served as a peacekeeper in post-war Bosnia and outed the U.N. for covering up a sex scandal. I am looking forward to both of these projects, they should prove to be very interesting.

I am working on getting my passport for the International Study Abroad trip in June. I had to send off for a long form copy of my birth certificate. It arrived today so I should be able to get the process started for my passport this week. I really still cannot believe that I will be in London this Summer. I don’t think I will believe it until I am on the plane. I still worry that I will not be able to cover all of my expenses here at home for the three weeks that I will be away, and won’t get to go, or that something else will come up that will prevent me from going.
I keep telling myself that I AM going, no matter what I will work it out, because this is a once in a lifetime opportunity that I cannot pass up. I know it is going to be an amazing experience.

14 comments on “A Play, New Media, and The Psychology of Human Sexuality.

  1. andreadealmagro
    February 6, 2012

    Don’t let the trip pass. Have courage.

    • eduthusiast
      February 6, 2012

      Thanks. I am determined to do whatever it takes to make this trip. =)

  2. Thanks for following my blog, and also for sharing your experiences and thoughts through your blog. Really enjoy your openness, honesty, and ‘voice’ 🙂

    It is sometimes tricky to put time by to post, but I always feel that the whole process of reflecting through writing helps me work out why things worked well (or didn’t!!), and what the next step is….

    • eduthusiast
      February 6, 2012

      I agree writing does help you sort through things. I have always enjoyed writing and blogging is a wonderful platform. I love all of the support you receive from your fellow bloggers and it is great to find such a diverse group of people who share your interests.

  3. maturestudenthanginginthere
    February 7, 2012

    Your studies sound REALLY interesting. Good luck.

  4. C
    February 8, 2012

    Travelling abroad is a wonderful experience! I can’t wait to read more about your experiences when the time comes!!

    Good luck! 🙂

  5. 3deye
    February 11, 2012

    Thanks for following our blog, and we hope you’re finding it useful. How did you find us??
    We’re looking forward to catching up with your posts, fellow eduthusiast. We’re based in London, not far from the Olympic park – and we’re also looking forward to a busy and eventful summer in the city!

  6. ShimonZ
    February 13, 2012

    just wanted you to know that I’m reading… even if I don’t comment… sometimes I don’t feel I have much to add.

  7. Pit
    February 19, 2012

    Enjoy London! And if you have the time/opportunity, some of the sights around it, too. I’d especially recommend small-town England: it’s absolutely beautiful. And let us know about your experiences. I’m looking forward to reading more in your blog here.
    Best regards,
    Pit

  8. littlematryoshka
    February 20, 2012

    Everything will work out and you will go to London!

  9. Jamie Dedes
    February 29, 2012

    I took eighteen units two semesters in a row once. My son was still little and I was freelancing as a writer. Too much …

    Congrates on the travel adventure. Wonderful! We’ll look forward to details here.

    • Jamie Dedes
      February 29, 2012

      Whoops! Early morning. No java yet. That would be “congrats” …

  10. LOVE the hair!

  11. ravenofleyla
    March 8, 2012

    I like the hair style…My grandma wore it and she was a beauty Queen in California. It does sound like you have had a full plate of late. Priorities always come first…LOL Dagnabit!

Leave a Reply

