Eduthusiast

Technology + Education + New Media

Changing Course

It has been too long since I posted here. I still owe my readers an update on my trip to Africa last May and my first semester at Middle Tennessee State University. My next post will include those updates and then I am going to shift gears a bit with the blog. I am going to incorporate blogging into my weekly routine as I head into some exciting new courses at MTSU. Thank you all for hanging with me and I hope that you will enjoy the more frequent updates as I look forward to discussing education, technology, social media and all of the wonderful opportunities new technology is opening up to learners across the globe.

2 comments on “Changing Course

  1. Dr Wixy
    January 10, 2014

    I’m interested to hear about current college life. I teach high school English, and I worry that all of the required collaboration activities are not preparing my honors students for college classes.

    • Eduthusiast
      January 11, 2014

      Hello Dr. Wixy. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have and I will be writing more about my classroom experiences. My Honors and Experiential learning courses have been the most interesting by far and I would encourage everyone to check into them at their institutions. I have been truly inspired by some of the young people that have been in the Honor’s courses with me, they are typically far better prepared and better students than their counterparts. There are some exceptions, of course, but overall I would say students who have had the opportunity to participate in honors courses in high school are going to fare better in college. I have also been fortunate enough to meet some exceptional home schooled students that are thriving in these types of courses too.

      I have noticed that a lot of incoming college students are unprepared for the rigors of College level English courses. They do not know how to format a paper, find good sources, prepare a bibliography or annotations. It is something that it seems a lot of people struggle with including me. I had taken Eng. 1010 and 1020 and still didn’t know how to do those things properly until after I took an Honors English course. The course was writing intensive and our focus was on pop culture. It was a wonderful class and I learned more in that one course about how to research, write, and cite a paper than I had in both previous English courses.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
